View Cart

Jaya The Cat - The New International Sound...

180 gr black vinyl and printed inner sleeves

Side A
1. Rebel Sound
2. Late Night Sonic Insurrection
3. Here Come The Drums
4. Bos En Lommerweg
5. Unconditional Love
6. Put A Boombox On My Grave
7. One Way Ticket Home
Side B
1. Thessaloniki
2. Peace And Love
3. Fake Carreras
4. Two Ships Passing
5. Date With A Needle
6. This Could All Go So Horribly Wrong
7. Thank You

Jaya The Cat spent the better part of 2011/2012 writing and recording in hotel rooms and backstages across Europe, to release a record that's quite arguably their best effort to date. Staying true to their sound, Jaya The Cat play an original blend of reggae, ska and punk rock –dosed with dub and dance hall beats, all blending into a musical soundtrack to support tales filled with drunken sunrises, narrow escapes, dysfunctional love affairs, political disillusionment and optimistically raised glasses, through seedy bars, carnival parades and late night dives.

With instant classics like “Here Come The Drums”, “Unconditional Love” and “Fake Carreras” giving hardcore Jaya The Cat fans the energy and catchy hooks they've come to expect, tracks like “Bos en Lommerweg” and “Thank You” show a more mature and almost pop approach. For “Put A Boombox On My Grave”, Jaya The Cat enlisted the talents of Jonny “Itch” Fox from the now disbanded UK band The King Blues to lay down guest vocals. The calypso-reggae influenced track “Late Night Sonic Insurrection” features upcoming Ska-Reggae Soul talent Adam Parsons of Captain Accident and The Disasters. Horn sections were performed by members of Dutch Jazz band The New Cool Collective.

Originating from Boston and currently based in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, Jaya The Cat not only continue to grow sonically but have also been hard at work building their reputation as one of the premiere bands on the European live circuit, playing hundreds of concerts to an ever expanding audience and turning every one into an unforgettable onstage party with the audience singing, dancing and drinking right along with the band. Although they prefer to play their own headlining shows, Jaya The Cat have shared stages with a number of their peers such as Sublime, Beatsteaks and Less Than Jake – and have also had the pleasure of appearing at numerous festivals such as the Vans Warped Tour, Lowlands, Rebellion, Pukkelpop, Ruhrpott Rodeo and the Spirit Festival.

Jaya The Cat´s new album THE NEW INTERNATIONAL SOUND OF HEDONISM continues where their previous album MORE LATE NIGHT TRANSMISSIONS left off – giving old and new fans alike a new chapter to listen to, dance to and to fall in love with.